XiaoT is Your Hearthstone Masters Tour Undercity Champion

The final Masters Tour champion.
The final Masters Tour champion. Blizzard

The Hearthstone Masters Tour Undercity is done and standing tall above the rest is Wu “XiaoT” Jiwei. He managed to sweep Cheng “DragonMan” Ka Sing in what could be described as a fast final. XiaoT not only takes home the title of Masters Tour Champion but also $25,000 in prize money.

In his journey to the championship, XiaoT entered the Top 16 through an impressive 8–0 record. His first match was against Frederik “Furyhunter” Møller, the Masters Tour Stormwind champion. It wouldn't be a difficult match but XiaoT prevailed to close the series at 3–2.

The quarterfinal saw XiaoT against Yuhsin “GivePLZ” Pa. XiaoT won the first two games but GivePLZ wouldn’t take it sitting down and grabbed the victory in the third game. There was no stopping XiaoT though as he won the next one to earn a seat at the semifinals.

It was in the semifinals that XiaoT began to shine. He made short work of Tianming to win 3–0 and claimed a spot for the grand finals against DragonMan.

In the first game of the grand finals, DragonMan went for his Garrote Rogue deck, which was enough against XiaoT’s OTK Demon Hunter. DragonMan, however, conceded in just a little over eight minutes. For the second game, XiaoT went for Quest Warlock against the Anaconda Druid of DragonMan. Again, DragonMan conceded around the same time.

The third game saw DragonMan stick with Anaconda Druid as XiaoT went for Quest Warrior. XiaoT proved to be too good and ended it at around five minutes. If you were keeping track of the time, the grand finals took less than 30 minutes. That’s how fast it was.

2021 World Championship

This being the last Masters Tour of the season, the remaining tournament for the year is the 2021 World Championship, scheduled from December 18 to December 19. This competition sees the top eight players from both Hearthstone Grandmasters and the China Gold Series fight for the title of champion and a large share of the $500,000 prize pool.

So far, seven players have been confirmed taking part in this tournament:

  • Facundo “Nalguidan” Pruzzo (Americas Season 1)
  • Kyle “McBanterFace” Spigelman (Americas Season 2)
  • David “Frenetic” Neila Quiñones (EMEA Season 1)
  • Gabriel “Gaby” Jeanne (EMEA Season 2)
  • Wataru “posesi” Ishibashi (Asia–Pacific Season 1)
  • Sato “glory” Kenta (Asia–Pacific Season 2)
  • Huang “Xiaobai” Dehui (China Season 1)
  • TBD (China Season 2)

Who do you think is taking the title?

Hearthstone is available on PC, Android, and iOS.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories