World War Z: Aftermath Next-Gen Console Versions Arriving in January 24

New platforms mean new players.
New platforms mean new players. Twitter/@wwzthegame

The co-op zombie shooter World War Z: Aftermath is officially coming to next-gen consoles this January 24. That means PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S players finally have the chance to see if they have what it takes to survive the apocalypse.

The upcoming launch on next-gen consoles isn't the only thing that should make players happy. Happening on January 24 too is the introduction of Horde Mode XL to the game, a supersized mode that follows the same rules as the standard Horde Mode. However, this one has a twist wherein scattered among normal waves of enemies is a special XL wave that bursts with more than 1,000 hungry zombies. Teams need to pull out all the stops if they hope to survive this rather overwhelming and terrifying challenge. This new mode is available on PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X/S.

That's not all. There's also a free update releasing on January 24 that will introduce mutators to the standard Horde Mode Z game mode. Plus, there are new deadly weapons to use along with the revamped and improved weapon progression system. This new update is coming to PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

The game World War Z is inspired by the film of the same name and first released in April 2019 on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. A version for Nintendo Switch was made available in November 2021. Regardless of the platform, friends can play together thanks to full crossplay between consoles and PC. World War Z: Aftermath is an upgraded version that comes with the World War Z Game of the Year Edition content, like new locations and new characters, and the revamped version of the melee system.

The game has players choose from eight unique classes, each having their own unique perks and playstyle. The classes are Gunslinger, Hellraiser, Slasher, Medic, Fixer, Exterminator, Dronemaster, and Vanguard.

The game follows a group of four survivors trying to survive a zombie apocalypse in the cities of New York, Jerusalem, Moscow, Tokyo, Marseille, Rome and Kamchatka. Aside from the cities mentioned, the Aftermath version adds three locations: Marseille, Rome, and the Kamchatka peninsula in Russia.

Learn more about World War Z: Aftermath.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories