Original Dragon Quest Trilogy Now On Nintendo Switch

Original Dragon Quest trilogy now on the Switch.
Original Dragon Quest trilogy now on the Switch. Square Enix

Square Enix announced that the first three games of the Dragon Quest franchise are officially available for the Nintendo Switch. The games are Dragon Quest, Dragon Quest II: Luminaries of the Legendary Line, and Dragon Quest III: The Seeds of Salvation. The release is seen as perfect not only for long time fans, but also for new players looking for the chance to experience gaming history with these classics.

In this iconic trilogy, players go on a quest as a hero to save the world. They get the chance to explore environments along with dungeons that are filled with magic and monsters. Since its original release back in 1986, the series has become not only a cultural milestone in gaming, but even served as a foundational influence on the entire role-playing game genre.

The trilogy has players start their journey simply known as "Hero," a descendant of the legendary Erdrick. In the Dragon Quest II sequel, the story jumps ahead 100 years and this time players now work as a young prince of Midenhall who sets out to find his cousins, who are also descendants of Erdrick, in the hopes of defeating Hargon the eveil wizard. Finally, the third game of the Erdrick saga sets players in Aliahan. This time around, the young hero is on a quest to save the world from the wicked and evil Demon Lord Baramos.

Dragon Quest Series Game Designer Yuji Horii said in a press statement that both returning and new players now have the chance to experience where it all began. He added that he hopes the "retro gameplay brings you a smile as you, the Hero, experience an epic journey.”

Each game in the trilogy can be purchased separately as a digital download from the Nintendo eShop with Dragon Quest at $4.99, Dragon Quest II: Luminaries of the Legendary Line at $6.49, and Dragon Quest III: The Seeds of Salvation at $12.49. The three titles are rated by the ESRB as T.

Ever since the release of this original trilogy, a total of 11 games have been released under the Dragon Quest series. The latest addition was released in 2018 with Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age. An enhanced version for the Switch titled Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition was released just last week.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories