Dauntless Coming to Next-Gen Consoles This Thursday

Experience the enhancements.
Experience the enhancements. Twiiter/@PlayDauntless

Prepare for a new kind of experience as Dauntless is finally arriving in next-gen consoles PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S. The official launch is this Thursday, December 2. It’s also set to offer seamless cross-generation, as well as full cross-platform support, for all seven different platforms.

Dauntless was released in September 2019 on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. It later arrived on Nintendo Switch in December 2019.

When Thursday comes, PS5 players can immediately claim and download the enhanced version for free at the PlayStation Store. Meanwhile, Xbox Series X/S gets the enhanced version through Smart Delivery.

Considering what the next-gen consoles have to offer, there’s no question that players should experience a significant upgrade with the high-resolution visuals. These include:

  • New lighting and atmospheres
  • Improved view distance
  • Volumetric fog and other effects
  • Reworked environment textures
  • Higher quality shadows

For PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X, players can enjoy dynamic 4K resolution at 60 FPS. Meanwhile, Xbox Series S can have a maximum resolution of 1440p at 60 FPS. Of course, the game loads faster on these devices.

Other Improvements

Aside from the improvements to load time and visuals, new features and support have been added to enhance the experience further. For example, a total of 36 new achievements and trophies are added to the game. There’s even that shiny new Platinum trophy on the PS5.

Speaking of PS5, players can enjoy in-game support of dynamic adaptive triggers and integrated sound from the DualSense wireless controller. Everyone can also enjoy the 3D audio, which puts them in the center of everything in the game. Another new feature for PS5 is the quick access to hunts from the game’s Activities menu.

Dauntless takes place in a world torn apart by a cataclysmic event. This same event has released monstrous creatures called Behemoths which prey on the surviving humans. Players take on the role of Slayers tasked with taking down these Behemoths. Along the way, they can collect loot that can be used to craft and upgrade weapons and equipment.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories