World Of Warcraft Shadowlands Expansion Finally Released

  • Windows
Are you ready?
Are you ready? Blizzard

The latest expansion for World of Warcraft is finally here. As the eighth expansion, Shadowlands takes players to the world beyond the mortal realm. There’s a lot of new things arriving to World of Warcraft in the expansion, so players are sure to be happily exploring all the new locations and features.

In Shadowlands, both Alliance and Horde need to face the mysteries of death as they travel to the next world. Along the way, heroes need to forge a pact with one of the four ruling Covenants of Shadowlands. While there are a lot of horrors that are sure to test the resolve of heroes, the rewards are more than worth it.

Features of Shadowlands include players being able to Explore Warcraft’s Afterlife. That’s right, it’s time to learn more about what lies beyond the veil, be it wonders or horrors. Experience the gleaming fields of Bastion or marvel at Revendreth and its gothic spires.

As already mentioned, players may need to Pledge to a Covenant. Shadowlands has four Covenants and each one offers unique story campaigns and gameplay features. Then there are also the unique powers that these Covenants give to those who swear loyalty. Choices for the Covenant include the valiant Kyrian, the prideful Venthyr, the mighty Necrolords of Maldraxxus, or even the wild Night Fae of Ardenweald.

Players can also Ascend the Tower of the Damned. In Shadowlands, the nastiest of souls are locked in Torghast, a prison that’s ruled by someone known simply as the Jailer. Those who think they are brave enough can take on this challenge solo. Otherwise, it’s better to form a team of up to five. Completing the challenge lets players earn materials to commission rune-carved legendary equipment of their choosing.

In a statement, Blizzard President J. Allen Brack revealed that this newest expansion takes players to somewhere they’ve never been before and have the chance to be able to shape the destinies of their characters in new ways. He went on to say that whether players are “exploring every facet of their chosen Covenant or creating their own legendary gear in the Tower of the Damned, we’re excited for players to discover the experiences waiting for them on the other side.”

Making the Shadowlands expansion more exciting is that it makes it even easier for players to join the fun, whether new or returning. There’s an island known as Exile’s Reach where new players can experience a new introductory adventure and ease them slowly into the game. New players can then leave the island and continue playing in Battle for Azeroth where they have the chance to reach level 50 and enter Shadowlands. Learn more about that here.

World of Warcraft is available for the PC and the Shadowlands expansion can be purchased in three tiers:

  • Shadowlands Base Edition
    • $39.99
    • Digital only
    • Comes with the expansion only
    • Provides a new lower entry point compared to previous expansions.
  • Shadowlands Heroic Edition
    • $59.99
    • Digital only
    • Comes with the expansion
    • A character boost for taking a new or existing lower-level character into the Shadowlands immediately.
    • Ensorcelled Everwyrm mount
      • Provides access to a quest line through which players can earn the Vestments of the Eternal Traveler transmogrification set.
  • Shadowlands Epic Edition
    • $79.99
    • Digital only
    • Includes everything in the Heroic Edition
    • Anima Wyrmling pet
    • Wraithchill cosmetic weapon effect
    • Eternal Traveler’s Hearthstone
    • Provides a unique visual effect
    • 30 days of game time
Join the Discussion
Top Stories