Ubisoft Launching Rainbow Six Esports Global Circuit in March 2023

Changes coming in 2023.
Changes coming in 2023. Ubisoft

There’s something new coming to the esports scene of Rainbow Six next year. Ubisoft is launching this March 2023 the Rainbow Six Esports Global Circuit, the newest version of the global circuit covering nine regions. With this, it should not only create more chances for high-stake international matches but also offer up-and-coming teams and players a way to be part of top-level competition.

The regions comprising the Rainbow Six Esports Global Circuit are:

  • Europe
  • North America
  • Brazil
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Hispanic Latin America
  • Asia
  • Oceania
  • MENA

Meanwhile, the competitive season itself runs from March to the following February and structured as follows:

  • March to May: Stage 1, concluded by an extended Six Major in May.
  • June to August: Off-Season.
  • September to November: Stage 2, concluded by an extended Six Major in November.
  • December to February: Off-Season.
  • February: Six Invitational.

At each stage of the competitive season, different regions are going to run their independent regional programs in parallel. The predefined Off-Seasons not only create room for third-party tournaments but also allow teams more time to regroup, rest, and prepare for the next stage of the competition. There’s also going to be a revamped point system with the entire competitive season being a race to score points to qualify for the Six Invitational.

Regional Programs

Since regional programs are seen as the gateway to qualify for the Six Major at the end of each stage, they’re expected to offer a hybrid competitive approach with closed and open components.

In a statement, Ubisoft revealed that to ensure the esports scene has that long-term health and maintains its competitiveness, it’s important to come up with regular opportunities for up-and-coming players to compete against professionals. Thus, each region is going to have an open qualifier component where all teams battle to grab a spot at the Six Major.

In parallel, certain regions are also going to run closed leagues where fans get to enjoy the top teams competing at the highest level of Siege Esports. The closed leagues recognize the fact that for organizations to grow and sustain high-performing rosters, they need both effort and investments. In addition, these closed leagues should offer exciting content for fans.

The closed leagues and Six Major open qualifiers together determine which teams qualify for the Six Major at the end of each stage.

What do you think of these new plans for the competitive scene?

Rainbow Six Siege is available on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories