BlizzCon 2019: Shadowlands Expansion Coming To World Of Warcraft Next Year

  • Windows
New expansion arriving 2020.
New expansion arriving 2020. Blizzard

World of Warcraft announced that Shadowlands is coming to Azeroth. This latest expansion is expected to arrive sometime in 2020.

In the Shadowlands expansion, the fallen leader of the Horde, Sylvanas Windrunner, has pierced the veil separating Azeroth and the realm of the dead. This has started a series of events that threaten to wreck the balance between life and death. In Shadowlands, heroes need to face the wonders and horrors of the afterlife as they confront the consequences of what Sylvanas has done.

Pre-purchase of World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is now available both in-game and through the Blizzard Shop. Three digital editions are going to be available which are:

  • Base edition Contents
    • The complete Shadowlands experience.
  • Heroic Edition Contents
    • The complete Shadowlands experience.
    • Level 120 character boost, available on pre-purchase.
    • Ensorcelled Everwyrm Mount
      • This grants access to a questline that awards the Vestments of the Eternal Traveler transmogrification set.
  • Epic Edition Contents
    • All content from the Heroic Edition
    • Anima Wyrmling pet
    • Wraithchill cosmetic weapon effect
    • Eternal Traveler’s Hearthstone
    • 30 Days of game time

That's not all, as all bonuses offered in the Heroic and Epic editions are unlocked immediately on pre-purchase. In addition, pre-purchasing any edition of Shadowlands gives players the ability to create Pandaren and Allied Race Death Knights, once the Visions of N’Zoth content update for Battle for Azeroth arrives in the next few months.

Shadowlands offers a wide range of new features and activities. Once players cross into the realm-between-realms, they can expect to:

  • Explore the Realm of the Dead
    • For the first time in World of Warcraft, players can now cross into the Shadowlands and experience the wonders and horrors of the afterlife across five new zones:
      • The gleaming fields of Bastion
      • The scarred battlefields of Maldraxxus
      • The eternal twilight of Ardenweald
      • The opulent keeps of Revendreth
      • The horrific Maw
  • Claim a Covenant’s Power
    • Players are called upon to forge a bond with one of four Covenants that rule Shadowlands’ new zones. This sets the tone for the journey of players through the expansion with a full Covenant Campaign.
    • As players level up, they’ll get new abilities based on their choice, including class-specific abilities for each Covenant.
      • Players can also develop Soulbinds with specific Covenant members, which grant them access to that character’s specific traits and bonuses.
  • Ascend Tower of the Damned
    • At the heart of the Maw lies Torghast, Tower of the Damned. This cursed otherworldly prison is where the wickedest souls in the universe have been locked away.
    • Highly replayable and inspired by roguelike games, heroes are invited to explore its ever-changing halls and chambers and do battle with the minions of the Jailer, Torghast’s vile ruler.
    • Those who are brave enough to undergo its trials can claim legendary treasures and help free the heroic spirits wrongfully trapped within.
  • Every Level is Meaningful
    • Shadowlands is going to introduce a new leveling system which is meant to give players a meaningful sense of advancement with every level achieved.
    • Current max-level characters begin Shadowlands at level 50 and work toward the new level cap of 60.
  • A New Army of the Dead Rises
    • In order to fight against combat Sylvanas’ assault on Icecrown, Bolvar Fordragon — the revered former paladin who took on the mantle of Lich King to keep the Scourge at bay — has raised heroes from among all the peoples of Azeroth to bolster the Death Knights of Acherus.
    • With Shadowlands, pandaren and all allied races can now become Death Knights.
  • Improved Character Customization Options
  • Players get access to a host of new appearance options for all races when they create new World of Warcraft characters, or even alter existing ones at the in-game barber shop.

You can learn more about World of Warcraft: Shadowlands here.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories