The 40th Golden Joystick Awards Returns November 22

Who's bringing home the joystick this time?
Who's bringing home the joystick this time? Future plc

The Golden Joystick Awards is all set to return on November 22. Considered as the longest-running, public-voted video games awards show in the world, the event attracts millions of votes each year with players from across the world deciding which games, developers, publishers, and personalities deserve their votes.

Fans will be invited to vote in 18 categories including “Best Storytelling,” “Best Studio,” and “Most Wanted.” Of course, there’s the highly coveted “Ultimate Game of the Year,” which was won by Capcom’s Resident Evil Village in 2021.

For this year, there are three additional “Critics Choice Awards” being awarded during the event.

This year’s show is also going to feature two new voting categories. The first is the “Best Early Access Launch” award that reflects the increasing number of games that invite the public to pre-release playtests as part of an evolving launch. The second new category is “Best Game Trailer,” which celebrates the most impactful and original trailers that play an important role in the expanding landscape of digital games showcases.

Winners are to be revealed on November 22 through an all-digital awards show to be broadcast across all major streaming platforms. In addition to announcing the winners, fans can also look forward to new trailers and exclusive content from the gaming world.

Here's the list of categories:

  • Studio of the Year
  • PC Game of the Year
  • PlayStation Game of the Year
  • Xbox Game of the Year
  • Nintendo Game of the Year
  • Best Multiplayer Game
  • Still Playing
  • Best Audio
  • Best Storytelling
  • Best Visual Design
  • Best Indie Game
  • Best Game Expansion
  • Best Game Community
  • Best Gaming Hardware
  • Best Early Access Launch
  • Best Game Trailer
  • Most Wanted
  • Ultimate Game of the Year

Public voting for all categories, except Ultimate Game of the Year, opens October 7. For Ultimate Game of the Year, public voting opens November 7. It was held the first time in 1983 with Jetpac winning Game of the Year. Since then, the show has become the largest public voted gaming award in the world.

Which game do you think is going home with a Golden Joystick this year? That said, may the best game win!

Join the Discussion
Top Stories