World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Classic Now Live

An icy adventure.
An icy adventure. Blizzard

The World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Classic is officially live. In this second expansion, players take on a treacherous journey across lush locales and fight enemies unlike anything found in Azeroth. There are also various quests to complete before confronting none other than the Lich King in Icecrown Citadel.

The new adventure also sees the introduction of the Death Knight hero class, available to all players starting at level 55. There’s also the Inscription profession, which allows players to scribe ability-enhancing glyphs that can change the appearance and modify the properties of spells and abilities.

Updated Version

Wrath of the Lich King was first released in 2008, and this version sees the core experience of the expansion maintained. However, some of the social and gameplay functionality have been modernized for the present day and Classic community. In addition, the current grouping tools have been evolved while making sure that the experience of forming groups organically is preserved.

Players can look forward to other quality-of-life updates as well, crafted to maintain the soul of Classic and making sure that the journey through Northrend is both gratifying and challenging.

For the Community

It goes without saying that the heart of Classic is always the Community. As such, there’s a lot of group content that players can explore with friends. For example, there are 12 dungeons as part of the player leveling and maximum-level experience. On October 6, players can take on the first three of the seven raids: Eye of Eternity, Obsidian Sanctum, and Naxxramas. The adventure continues in Ulduar, Trial of the Crusader, Icecrown Citadel, and Ruby Sanctum through future updates.

Upgrades Available

Those who want to enhance their experience even further can choose between two upgrades, purchasable on

  • Northrend Heroic Upgrade
    • A level-70 character boost complete with appropriate gear, mount, starting gold, and expert riding skill.
    • Pebble the penguin pet.
    • Fishspeaker’s Lucky Lure.
      • A toy to summon your very own tuskarr fishing companion.
  • Northrend Epic Upgrade
    • All items included in the Heroic upgrade.
    • The flying Kalu’ak Whalebone Glider mount for your Classic characters.
    • The flying Tuskarr Shoreglider mount for your non-Classic Characters.
    • 30 days of game time.

Are you ready to take on the Lich King?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories