World of Warcraft: The Dragonflight Expansion Now Live

Are you ready for the dragons?
Are you ready for the dragons? Blizzard

The ninth expansion of World of Warcraft is now live. In Dragonflight, the Alliance and the Horde have been called again to Azeroth to explore and learn more about the mystical Dragon Isles as well as its ancient secrets.

The Dragon Isles continent gives players access to five new vibrant zones, described as some of the largest by area in the history of the game. The zones are:

  • Forbidden Reach
    • The new starting zone for the dracthyr race.
  • Waking Shores
    • An untamed land brimming with elemental energies.
  • Ohn’ahran Plains
    • Home to proud centaur clans.
  • Azure Span
    • This is where tuskarr fish among the arcane ruins.
  • Thaldrazsus
    • The seat of power for the dragon aspects and home of the dragon capital city Valdrakken.

This new expansion also introduces the first ever race/class combo which is the dracthyr Evoker. This new race/class combo offers a lot of character customization and is the first ranged damage class added to the game since its launch 18 years ago. Players can channel the magic of the dragon flights while moving across battlefields, healing allies or damaging enemies while using the new Empowered spellcasting.

Core Systems Reimagined

Dragonflight also reimagines the core systems of the game. Each is going to get further updates through a phased approach across the expansion. Details are:

  • An All-New Talent Tree System now offers unprecedented control over gameplay and has more impactful choices at every level along with new ability combinations.
    • Starter talent builds are available to help new players or returning adventurers.
    • Talent builds can be saved, swapped, and even shared with friends.
  • The Redesigned Heads-Up Display (HUD) and user interface looks great on modern displays and shows important gameplay info more effectively.
    • The HUD UI is now easily customizable for all types of players especially with the addition of edit mode.
    • It also allows for easily sharing loadouts.
  • Enhanced Professions is now a pillar of gear acquisition.
    • This allows players to live the fantasy of a master crafter or gatherer and build a clientele through new player-driven work orders.
    • There are also unlockable specializations as well as the addition of a quality system for crafting and gathering.

Different Editions

Players can get a base edition digitally for $49.99. There are also other editions that add extra goodies and these are:

  • Heroic Edition ($69.99)
    • New Murkastrasza pet
    • Dragonflight-level character boost (level 60)
    • New Tangled Dreamweaver flying mount
  • Epic Edition ($89.99)
    • All items in the Heroic edition items
    • Timewalker’s Hearthstone effect
    • Diadem of the Spell-keeper head-slot transmog
    • Wings of Awakening back-slot transmog in five color variants
    • 30 days of game time

Are you ready to visit the Dragon Isles?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories