Rage 2 Pre-Order Includes NBA Jam Play-By-Play Commentary

He's on Fire
He's on Fire Bethesda

Bethesda Softworks announced that those who pre-order Rage 2 get a very interesting surprise. It comes in the form of a "cheat code" that features the voice talents of none other than Tim Kitzrow to the game. The code is appropriately titled "He's On Fire" and will bring Kitzrow's play-by-play commentary to Rage 2.

For those too young to remember, Kitzrow served as the voice of the play-by-play announcer to the gem that was NBA Jam. NBA Jam is a basketball video game where players can make characters jump higher than their own height, or make slam dunks that are clearly only possible in video games. All through the game, players often hear phrases or words like "Rejected," "He's heating up!" or "He's on fire!" Of course, there is that infamous "Boomshakalaka!"

As with any announcements made on April 1, this one was taken with a grain of salt by fans and players alike. According to Polygon however, a representative from Bethesda has confirmed that this will be a real feature. Kitzrow himself has confirmed it on his Twitter account.

It remains to be seen how young players will react to this mode, and how long the novelty lasts for the older players.

Rage 2 is in development at Avalanche Studios, in partnership with id Software and published by Bethesda. The game is a first-person shooter that offers players an open world environment. It is a sequel to Rage, released in 2010.

Rage offered two multiplayer modes with the first one being Road Rage, a free-for-all battle between four players. Wasteland Legends, meanwhile, offers two-player co-op missions. Reviews for the game were mainly positive, with critics citing the shooting mechanics and graphics.

Rage 2 is scheduled for release May 14 on the PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

Pre-order only bonuses include:

- Cult of the Death God mission

- Settler Pistol

- Nicholas Raine Armor

- Mutant Monster Truck Skin

Rage 2 comes in three editions with the basic Standard Edition, a deluxe edition and the Collector's Edition.

The Deluxe Edition includes:

- Rise of the Ghosts Expansion


- Wasteland Wizard Cheat Codes

- Progress Booster

- Battle Standard

The Collector's Edition offers:

- All Deluxe Edition content

- Ruckus the Crusher Talking Head (12" x 7" x 5")

- Poster

- Steelbook

- Additional Digital Content

Join the Discussion
Top Stories