Preseason of XDefiant Begins May 21

It's time to lock and load. Ubisoft

Ubisoft announced that the preseason of XDefiant is all set to launch on May 21. It's going to be available for the PC through Ubisoft Connect along with the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S. Once it goes live, there's going to be five different modes that players across 14 maps and 24 weapons with 44 attachments. There are also five playable factions, with each one bringing unique gameplay abilities and buffs.

Choosing a Faction

In the game, players need to choose a faction and loadout. They can do this before a match starts as well as any time they want to do so upon respawning. This should allow them to adapt to an ever-evolving fight. Each faction has two active abilities along with a passive buff. The factions also have an ultra abilities which need to be charged during the match.

Here's a quick peek at the different factions and what they offer:

  • Libertad
    • Excels at healing support thanks to BioVida medication.
  • Cleaners
    • Use fire to burn away their enemies.
  • Echelon (Splinter Cell)
    • Uses stealth technology to reveal enemy locations.
    • Can use same stealth technology to render themselves invisible on enemy maps.
  • Phantoms
    • Use their advanced training and technology to block damage.
  • DedSec
    • Uses their technological expertise to hack enemy gadgets.
    • They can also release spiderbots on unsuspecting opponents.

By the way at launch, the DedSec in particular is going to be locked along with two other faction's playable characters. However, players can earn all of them by finishing in-game missions.

Check the Loadouts

Meanwhile, loadouts consist mainly of a primary and a secondary weapon plus a grenade. Players can choose between assault rifles, submachine guns, and shotguns. There's even marksman rifles and sniper rifles. Each of the weapons offer different strengths when it comes to combat.

Players can customize their weapons through a wide range of attachments which can fine tune the performance of each weapon. These include sights, grips, stocks, magazines, and barrel and muzzle attachments. In addition, using a weapon has players earn weapon XP progress towards unlocking new customization options.

Select the Modes

When it comes to game modes, the ones in XDefiant fall into two different categories. The first one are Arena-style matches that include:

  • Domination
    • Teams fight to control three fixed zones
  • Occupy
    • Teams fight to control one zone which periodically moves around the map
  • HotShot
    • Players fight to get the most KOs.
    • Points are only granted (or denied) when players collect tags from fallen foes (or allies)
    • The player currently holding the most tags becomes the HotShot.
      • Gets a host of speed buffs.
      • Marked on the map for all to see.

The second category are Linear matches where players take on attacking or defending roles. These include:

  • Zone Control
    • The attacking team works to secure five zones in a progression across the map.
    • The defenders fight to stop them.
  • Escort
    • The attacking team needs to bring a package to its final destination across the map.
    • Defenders try to prevent their progress and even push the package back.

What do you think? Ready to join the fight?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories