Marvel’s Avengers Open Beta Goes Free This Weekend

Get to try out this game.
Get to try out this game. Square Enix

If you’re one of those excited to see how Marvel’s Avengers works for yourself, then that time is here. The game is currently in Open Beta and everyone has a chance to play for free this weekend. It’s going to be available from August 21 until August 23 for the PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. The game is set to be released worldwide on September 4.

For the Open Beta, players can expect to try four of the single-player Hero Missions. Then there are the three HARM Room Challenges and four War Zones. Players can also experience the five Drop Zones. That should be worth hours of Super Hero action. For War Zones and Drop Zones, these two can be played solo using any heroes in the player’s roster as AI companions. It can also be played as a team of up to four players.

PlayStation 4 and Xbox One players that link their Square Enix Members and Epic Games accounts, while also finishing the three HARM-room challenges in the Open Beta, earn the Hulk Smashers Pickaxe with bonus Hulkbuster style for Fortnite.

In a statement, Crystal Dynamics Studio Head Scot Amos said that the prior “beta weekends have already seen millions of gamers spend tens of millions of hours teaming up and smashing enemies as their favorite Super Heroes.” He went on to say that they are excited to offer the beta to those who want to try the game so that “they too can take the role of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.”

In order to play the beta, players need to have a Square Enix Members account which they can sign up for here. Those who sign up for an account receive a Thor in-game nameplate in the final game.

Marvel’s Avengers offers a rich experience where players can customize the heroes in different ways. While each hero has unique power sets, each one has enough flexibility when it comes to the gear equipped and skills enabled to ensure that no two player heroes are played in the same way.

Marvel’s Avengers is set to be released for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC, and Google Stadia. It’s going to be available for the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X once these consoles launch later this year.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories