Final Fantasy XIV Reveals 10-Year Support Plan

Learn more about the plan.
Learn more about the plan. Square Enix

Truly great news for Final Fantasy XIV Online players. Look forward to many good things like the bunch of new content scheduled to arrive within the year. One of the reasons that made this possible is that Square Enix is supporting the game for the next 10 years.

This was confirmed by none other than Producer and Director Naoki Yoshida in the most recent Letter from the Producer LIVE broadcast. In that same broadcast, Yoshida also shared some of the additions to be introduced to make sure that the game evolves the online RPG experience further.

If you have the time, you can watch the whole broadcast below:

New Content

Below is a partial roadmap of new content being planned for upcoming patches:

  • Patch 6.1 Series
    • New Main Scenario Questline (Patch 6.1 - 6.5)
    • “Somehow Further Hildibrand Adventures” (Patch 6.1 – 6.5)
    • “Tataru’s Grand Endeavor” Sidequest Series (Patch 6.1 – 6.5)
    • Myths of the Realm #1 (Alliance Raid)
    • Crystalline Conflict (New PvP)
    • Arkasodara Tribe Quests and Dailies
    • Dragonsong’s Reprise (New Ultimate Duty)
    • Ultima’s Bane (Unreal)
    • Trust Support for A Realm Reborn (Patch 2.0) Main Scenario Dungeons
    • New Calling Card-Style UI (Name TBD)
    • New Hairstyles for Hrothgar
    • Empyreum (Ishgard Housing)
    • Custom Deliveries: Ameliance
  • Patch 6.2 Series
    • Trust Support for A Realm Reborn 2.X Main Scenario Dungeons
    • Trust Support for 2-3 Heavensward Main Scenario Dungeons
    • New Weapon Enhancements
    • New "Criterion" Dungeon with Variable Difficulty (for 1–4 Players)
    • "Island Sanctuary" Debuts
  • Patch 6.3 Series
    • Trust system for Remaining Heavensward Main Scenario Dungeons
    • Deep Dungeon Series #3
    • Ultimate Duty #5
    • Island Sanctuary Updates
  • Patch 6.4 and Patch 6.5 Series
    • Trust system for Stormblood™ Main Scenario Dungeons
    • “Criterion” Dungeons #2 & #3
    • Additional Area for Island Sanctuary

Free Trial

For those who want to try the game, now is a good time to do it. That’s because the Free Trial starts today which also reopens new user registration. This Free Trial includes all content not only from the A Realm Reborn expansion but also the Heavensward expansion. It also lets players enjoy the playable race known as Au Ra and three additional playable jobs which are Dark Knight, Astrologian, and Machinist.

Learn more about the Free Trial here.

Final Fantasy XIV is available on PC, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation 5.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories