Destiny 2's Newest Raid, Crown of Sorrow, Officially Revealed

Gear up for the most challenging raid yet to come to Destiny 2.
  • Playstation 4
  • Windows
  • Xbox One
  • RPG
  • Shooter
In Crown of Sorrow, guardians must cleanse the Leviathan of the Hive that infest it.
In Crown of Sorrow, guardians must cleanse the Leviathan of the Hive that infest it. Bungie

Destiny 2's Season of Opulence is kicking off today, June 4, and fans around the world are getting ready for what promises to be the game's most challenging content yet - the Crown of Sorrows raid. Crown of Sorrows will be available on Day One of Destiny 2's new season, and will launch alongside the new six-player matchmaking PvE activity, Menagerie.

This time around, Crown of Sorrow will bring players to a familiar place, but with new challenges and enemies to defeat. Crown of Sorrow takes place on the Leviathan, with Emperor Calus calling upon the guardians to cleanse the palace-like mothership of the Hive creatures that infest it. For a bit more flavor, here's the official description of what's going on in Crown of Sorrow:

Deep within the belly of the Leviathan, one of Calus's former Loyalists has lost his mind to an Ascendant Hive relic. Gather your fireteam. Select your arsenal. Chart a path into the dark.

Source: Bungie

With the great challenges in store for players in the new Crown of Sorrow raid, guardians can also expect great rewards. As per tradition, the Crown of Sorrow raid will give players the chance to acquire all-new powerful raid gear, including an armor set for each of the available character classes.

Since it's supposed to be the most challenging Destiny 2 game content yet (raids are usually meant for end-game), players should expect Crown of Sorrow to require a pretty high power level. As with previous seasons, the Season of Opulence will be increasing the game's power level cap, which also means players will now be able to acquire higher-powered gear than before. We're not sure exactly what the new power level cap will be in Season of Opulence, but we're expecting to see caps of around 700.

A new raid is definitely a welcome sight for many in the Destiny 2 community. The last raid prior to Crown of Sorrow was released alongside the Black Armory DLC in Season of the Forge. The previous season, Season of the Drifter, added a new game mode and several other additions to Destiny 2, but fans were still disappointed to find out that there was no raid planned for the game's sixth season.

Like with any new raid in a massively multiplayer online game, players can expect that most of the Destiny 2 community will be abuzz trying to become the first players in the world to complete Crown of Sorrows. What do you think about the upcoming changes to Destiny 2 in Season of Opulence? Will you be among the game's elite players and vie to become the first to complete the Crown of Sorrow?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories