Capcom Arcade Stadium Now on Nintendo Switch

It's Throwback Thursday.
It's Throwback Thursday. Capcom

Those looking to add a little nostalgia to their video game collection can start with Capcom Arcade Stadium. Now available for the Nintendo Switch, it offers 32 games that were first released by Capcom to arcades from 1984 to 2001. The games are actually divided into three packs of 10 games each plus two additional titles.

The different games are grouped based on a particular period, which are:

  • Dawn of the Arcade (1984-1988)
    • Vulgus (1984)
    • Pirate Ship Higemaru (1984)
    • 1942 (1984)
    • Commando (1985)
    • Section Z (1985)
    • Trojan (1986)
    • Legendary Wings (1986)
    • Bionic Commando (1987)
    • Forgotten Worlds (1988)
    • Ghouls 'n Ghosts (1988)
  • Arcade Revolution (1989-1992)
    • Strider (1989)
    • Dynasty Wars (1989)
    • Final Fight (1989)
    • 1941: Counter Attack (1990)
    • Mercs (1990)
    • Mega Twins (1990)
    • Carrier Air Wing (1990)
    • Street Fighter II (1991)
    • Captain Commando (1991)
    • Varth: Operation Thunderstorm (1992)
  • Arcade Evolution (1992-2001)
    • Warriors of Fate (1992)
    • Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting (1992)
    • Super Street Fighter II Turbo (1994)
    • Armored Warriors (1994)
    • Cyberbots: Full Metal Madness (1995)
    • 19XX: The War Against Destiny (1995)
    • Battle Circuit (1997)
    • Giga Wing (1999)
    • 1944: The Loop Master (2000)
    • Progear (2001)

Each pack is available for $14.99. Players, however, have the option to buy the entire pack for $39.99. If they choose the latter option, they get 1943 – The Battle of Midway and Ghosts ‘n Goblins for free.

Players who decide to buy the packs individually can still get Ghosts ‘n Goblins , which is available for $1.99.

In addition to offering access to a wide range of games, Capcom Arcade Stadium also comes with four-player local multiplayer for titles with native support. Each title includes customization options to let players adjust Game Speed or Difficulty Level, among others. The collection too has what’s known as a universal Rewind feature where players can go back in time to “save themselves.”

There will be online leaderboards as well where players can tackle challenges and claim titles. Finally, as players complete challenges and earn achievements, they get to build what’s known as the CASPO Class. Increasing the CASPO Class allows players to unlock in-game frames.

Grab the game here.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories