Bless Unleashed Guide: It's All In The Gear

Learn more about gears.
Learn more about gears. Bandai Namco

Bless Unleashed is an upcoming free-to-play MMORPG for the Xbox One. In the game, players go on an epic multiplayer journey through a vibrant persistent world and survive against vicious and lethal monsters. No actual date for the release has been given, but the game is about to begin its open beta period. You can read more about that here.

Like any other MMORPG, the skills of the characters are taken into consideration. However, having the proper equipment is just as important. In Bless Unleashed, players need to make sure equipment is up to date. Today we look at gear quality and enhancing gear.

Unlike other games, in Bless Unleashed the Gear Score is not as important as the attack or defense score. Even if gear has special abilities, that remains to be secondary to the tier and grades.

Item Tiers

In Bless Unleashed, Gear is categorized by tiers with the lowest being E and the highest being A. As a rule, items belonging to E tier should be of lower quality compared to D tier, and so on. If you're not looking at the tier, you may get confused when it comes to the stats of a higher tiered item.

Item Grades

Aside from tiers, the second consideration when it comes to gears should be the grades. Grades in Bless Unleashed begin with Common and move all the way up to Epic. The good news is that items grades can easily be identified based on color. It's important to note that if a piece of gear has been enhanced to its maximum, it can be upgraded to an item from one grade to the next with the enhancement system.

You can view the tiers and grades below:

Tier vs Gear.
Tier vs Gear. Bandai Namco

Enhancement & Fortification

As you level up in Bless Unleashed, you need to enhance your gear as part of managing your equipment. Each piece of gear in the game can have its fortification level increased through Enhancement by as much as five times. It can then be upgraded to further the item's power. When the fortification of gear is increased, its attack/defense stat is also increased along with the gear score. However, not all items can be enhanced, especially those belonging to the low-level E tier.

The Cost of the enhancement is based on the current fortification level as well as the grade of the equipment being enhanced. In the beginning, enhancements only cost gold. However, later levels of enhancement are going to require artifact shards or artifact cores depending on the grade of the equipment.

Enhancement does not come without costs. When you start the game, the first pieces of gear, particularly those in the lower grades, that you're able to acquire are easy to enhance. What this means is that chances of failure when enhancing is basically non-existent. However as you go higher, like reaching Rare, there is a chance that enhancement can fail. What happens is that the item loses two fortification levels and breaks. However, items do not go down a grade due to failure. Further, items that have no fortification levels do not break when this happens, but the materials spent during the attempt are always consumed.

When an item breaks resulting from a failed enhancement attempt, it loses some of its power while also lowering both the base stats and gear score. A broken item can be repaired using a repair tool or sacrificing the same item of any tier. Regardless, you need some gold in order to complete the enhancement.


When you have managed to fortify your gear to level five, you need to upgrade it to the next level in order to continue fortifying it. Upgrading requires at least an enhancement stone. Once an item is upgraded, the fortification level is reset to zero, and fortification can be done again until level five before needing another upgrade.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories