The World Of Warcraft Classic Guide For Noobs: Part 2

  • Windows
Part 2 of our guide focuses on abilities and talents.
Part 2 of our guide focuses on abilities and talents. Blizzard

Welcome back to Player.One's guides for World of Warcraft Classic. Last time we looked into the different realms available in World of Warcraft Classic. We also took the time to learn about the different characters that you can make in the game. This time we look at abilities and talents and how they work.

In World of Warcraft Classic, characters earn new abilities as they level, which is obviously based on their class. In most cases you need to train these abilities when you get them. To do so, you need to visit the class trainers located in the capital cities. Training also allows you to earn higher ranks for existing abilities.

Once you reach level 10, things start to be interesting. By this level, you get access to what are known as class talents. This lets you customize your character even more. Beginning at level 10, you earn one talent point for every level. This means you should earn 51 points in total by the time you reach the level cap of 60. Each class has three unique talent trees and you are allowed to spread the points between depending on what you want your character to be.

If you're unhappy with how you distributed your points, you can always go to your class trainer anytime and have them reset your talent points. Each time you reset your talents however, the price for doing so increases. If you want to know how you can spread your talents, you can use many of the talent calculators available in the community or you can go here.

If that sounds a bit confusing, let's take an example. Let's say we choose the Priest class.

Invokers of Light & Darkness.
Invokers of Light & Darkness. Blizzard

You can choose this class if you belong to these races:

  • Alliance
    • Dwarves
    • Humans
    • Night Elves
  • Horde
    • Troll

For a brief overview, Priests are good support characters as they can heal their teammates and also dish out the damage when needed. The problem is that they are physically frail and use minimal armor. This results in them being easy to be overwhelmed by enemies.

Priest Talent Tree.
Priest Talent Tree. Blizzard

In terms of talents, a Priest can choose from these three:

  • Discipline
    • Uses magic to shield allies from taking damage as well as heal their wounds.
  • Holy
    • A versatile healer who can reverse damage on individuals or groups and even heal from beyond the grave.
  • Shadow
    • Uses sinister Shadow magic and terrifying Void magic to eradicate enemies.

It is important to choose how you want to play the game since it could also affect what items you need to have to maximize your abilities and talents. Just a reminder, you can focus on one specific tree or you can distribute your points over the different talents available.

Let's say you choose to start with Discipline. You can choose either:

  • Unbreakable Will
    • Increases your chance to resist Stun, Fear, and Silence
  • Wand Specialization
    • Increases your damage with Wands by 5%

What this tells you is that if you're not using a wand then you probably should go for Unbreakable Will.

If you want to play around the Priest’s talent tree, you can try it out here.

That’s it for today. Next time we will look at the other aspects of World of Warcraft Classic.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories