Mortal Kombat 11 Guide: Understanding The Kombat League

Kombat League
Kombat League NetherRealm Studios

Mortal Kombat 11 is introducing Kombat League. This is a seasonal ranked mode where players go head-to-head against each other over several weeks to earn exclusive in-game rewards. Kombatants are matched with opponents having similar skills and need to win two out of three sets.

Players begin at Apprentice level and go through nine ranked tiers until they reach Elder God. With each win, players get closer to the next rank, but need to keep on playing since the Kombat Points collected begin to decay after 72 hours of inactivity.

So how does Kombat League work?

Once you queue for a match and find an opponent, you and your opponent immediately see these statistics:

  • win/loss record
  • win odds
  • connection type
  • ping
  • potential points to gain or lose
Information shown once match is made.
Information shown once match is made. NetherRealm Studios

For each match of a set, the losing player can choose to start the rematch using the same character, select a new fighter, or even forfeit. While this is happening, both you and your opponent can view the Kombat Breakdown.

This allows you to see the percentages of the damage dealt from each attack type and informs you on how you might want to approach your next match.

Match breakdown.
Match breakdown. NetherRealm Studios

Once a player reaches two wins, the set ends and points are awarded to the winner with the loser having point subtracted.

So what's in store for you?

Players can earn rewards for Daily and Seasonal Challenges. The good thing about this is that you can get rewards regardless of your rank, provided you play Kombat League match sets.

For the Daily Challenge, players only need to play five League match sets per day to earn a reward of Time Krystals.

Seasonal Challenges consist of different objectives that can be performed over the course of several matches. The challenges include objectives like connecting Fatal Blows during matches, spilling Pints of Blood during matches, completing Daily Challenges, completing all the other Challenges available during a Season, or a variety of other objectives. Completing these challenges lets you earn, among others, victory poses, brutalities, gear, and cosmetic skins.

Then there are the Seasonal Rank Rewards. These are rank-based rewards where players can earn Koins, Souls, Hearts, Time Krystals, gear, cosmetic skins, and a lot more. There are several skins that players can unlock each season when reaching the required minimum Rank. For example, the Demi God reward is Jacqui Briggs’ Aleph Naught skin in the Season of Time.

Season Rank Rewards
Season Rank Rewards NetherRealm Studios

By being part of the Kombat League. players also earn a Kombat Kard icon and background themed around the current season. The rewards received at the end of a season are based on the highest rank the players achieved at any point during the season.

So are you ready to give the Kombat League a chance?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories