Loop8: Summer of Gods Opening Cinematic Revealed

Learn more about the story.
Learn more about the story. XSeed Games

A lot of fans are already excited with the upcoming release of Loop8: Summer of Gods. XSEED Games just upped the excitement with a new cinematic trailer, featuring the game’s actual opening cinematic. It gives fans a peek at the different characters that they can befriend when playing the game, the locales they can explore, and of course, the enemies they will face in their journey.

The opening cinematic also features the game’s stunning art style, along with detailed and watercolor-inspired scenery plus anime-influenced character designs. Making this cinematic trailer even more of a treat to watch is the musical backdrop courtesy of the original song “Genfunkei” sung by NaHo/QiSui.

You can watch the trailer below:

A Coming-of-Age Adventure

Loop8: Summer of Gods offers a coming-of-age adventure where players follow protagonist Nini and his classmates in their quest to defeat the Kegai, demonic entities that have forced humanity to the brink of extinction. Having been raised on a failed space station known as "Hope," Nini decides to go down back to Earth and spend his summer in Ashihara, one of the last remaining sanctuaries of humanity. With the gift of "Demon Sight," Nini can use his special connection to the gods to reset the world. With each loop, he and his allies relive the eighth month over and over until they get things right or the Kegai overwhelms them.

The team behind the game includes:

  • Senior Producer Yoichi Miyaji (Lunar series, Grandia series)
  • Game Designer Yuri Shibamura (Gunparade March, Touken Ranbu)
  • Character Designers En Morikura (Kizuna Ai) and Shingo Adachi (Sword Art Online)
  • Mascot Character Designer Ryudai Murayama (Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin)
  • Concept Artist Kitsuneiro (Amatsu Kitsune)
  • Composer Noriyuki Iwadare (Ace Attorney series)

Different Editions

Loop8: Summer of Gods is launching in North America June 6 digitally on PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch. Physical editions are offered on consoles which include the standard edition at $49.99. There's also the limited Celestial Edition, priced at $69.99, which comes with:

  • A 5.25” by 7.25” softcover “Ashihara Town Guide.” It contains more than 50 pages of artwork and information from the game.
  • ​Musical selections CD with select songs from the soundtrack.
  • A 7” by 10.5” mini wall scroll.
  • An authentic 4” by 3.15” Japanese wooden ema as an offering for the in-game Ashihara Shrine.

Players can grab the special Digital Deluxe edition for $59.99, which comes with the original soundtrack and artbook.

Excited to start your new adventure?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories