Hades Wins Best Video Game at Hugo Awards 2021

A really good win.
A really good win. Steam

Good news for Hades fans around the world. Hades has been named the Best Video Game during the Hugo Awards 2021. It beat the likes of Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Spiritfarer, Final Fantasy VII Remake, The Last of Us: Part II, and Blaseball.

What makes this win great is that Hades becomes the first-ever video game to get this award.

The Hugo Awards is an annual literary award that recognizes the best works in science fiction and fantasy of the previous year. It was named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of science fiction magazine Amazing Stories. The first awards were handed out in 1953 and then every year since 1955.

Adding a New Category

It was back in November 2020 when it was first announced that a Best Video Game category was to be included in the 2021 Hugo Awards. This was not the first time such an attempt was made. Back in 2006, there was a plan to include a category for Best Interactive Video Game. However, it was dropped from the final ballot due to lack of interest.

In agreeing to have this new category, DisCon III revealed that they hope this would allow fans to celebrate games that have been joyful, meaningful, and exceptional over the past year. According to co-chair Colette Fozard, video games draw from the very same creative well that fed both science fiction and fantasy writing for many years. This particular genre, Fozard went on to say, has offered new methods of telling stories and this new category is a good way to honor that.

With Hades getting the nod, there is a big possibility that the Best Video Game category is here to stay.

In the game, players take on the role of the immortal Prince of the Underworld wielding the powers and mythic weapons from Olympus itself. One of the things that players can expect is the replayability of the game. For example, each time they enter the Underworld, the guardian bosses remember them. The game has been nominated for different awards and has won Game of the Year during the Gayming Awards 2021 and 24th Annual D.I.C.E. Awards.

Hades is available on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories