Fortnite World Cup Start Time: How To Compete For Big Money

Here's how you can compete for a spot in the Fortnite World Cup Finals
Here's how you can compete for a spot in the Fortnite World Cup Finals Epic

Fortnite is gearing up for the first stage in a massive World Cup competition. Even more exciting: this tournament is open to all Fortnite players 13 years old or older. If you want to try your hand a professional Fortnite , here’s how you can participate.

Fortnite World Cup Start Time

What time does the Fortnite World Cup start? The action begins on April 13 with Solo competition, and April 20 for Duos. To participate, look for the Arena game mode releasing in the v8.20 patch. This game mode is always active, and players need to participate in this game mode to earn an invite to the Online Open Semi-Finals.

If you are invited to the Online Open, you’ll have a three hour window (based on server region) to play in up to 10 matches and score points. The top 3,000 players from the Online Open Semi-Finals move on to the Online Open Finals and compete for $1,000,000. The Finals are like the Semi-Finals, with players completing 10 matches in a three hour window for points. The top players from the Finals are invited to the Fortnite World Cup Finals from July 26 to July 28.

Fortnite World Cup qualifiers run for 10 weeks, with Solo and Duos competitions alternating every weekend. The Solo Semi-Finals take place on the first, third, fifth, seventh and ninth Saturdays, with the Finals for each week taking place the next day on Sundays. The Duos tournaments are organized in a similar way, but on the second, fourth, sixth, eighth and tenth weeks of the qualifier period.

Scoring for the Solo competition’s Semi-Finals and Finals work like this:

  • Victory Royale: 10 Points

  • 2nd - 5th place finish: 7 Points

  • 6th - 15th: 5 Points

  • 16th - 25th: 3 Points

  • Each Elimination: 1 Point

Scoring for the Duos competitions works like this:

  • Victory Royale: 10 Points

  • 2nd - 3rd place finish: 7 Points

  • 4th - 7th: 5 Points

  • 8th - 12th: 3 Points

  • Each Elimination: 1 Point

The top players from Europe, North America, Asia, Brazil and Oceania are selected each week for a spot in the Fortnite World Cup. As for Duos teams, players can change teams with a different friend every week, but if a team is selected for the World Cup Finals, there are no substitutions allowed.

All players in the Finals need to have two-factor authorization (2FA) enabled for their Epic ID accounts, so make sure you have that activated before you start playing. It’s a smart idea to have it activated anyway, just for your personal safety.

More information on the Fortnite World Cup, including a full list of official rules, can be found here.

So what do you think? Are you excited to participate in the Fortnite World Cup? Do you think you can make it all the way to the Finals? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories