Fortnite Celebrates Avengers: Endgame With Patch V8.50

  • Playstation 4
  • Windows
  • Xbox One
  • Survival
Fortnite: Endgame
Fortnite: Endgame Epic Games

Fortnite patch V8.50 is now live and players get the chance to battle Thanos and his Chitauri army with the Endgame Limited Time Mode. The goal is, of course, to prevent Thanos from getting all six of the Infinity Stones.

Here are other details of this new LTM:

  • Both teams respawn when eliminated until the other side completes their objective.
  • On one side is the Hero team. Heroes respawn when eliminated until the enemy team has found all six Infinity Stones.
  • Heroes start with a treasure map that leads directly to a Mythic Avengers item.
  • Other Avengers items can be found in Chests throughout the map.
  • The goal for the Hero team is to destroy the Chitauri army and defeat Thanos.
  • Team Thanos is comprised of Chitauri Invaders and Thanos himself.
  • Chitauri Invaders start with a powerful laser rifle, an anti-structure grenade attack, and a jetpack that lets them briefly leap high into the air.
  • The first Chitauri to recover an Infinity stone will be transformed into Thanos.
  • Thanos has a powerful punch, a destructive beam attack, and the ability to jump high into the air and then smash anything in his way when he comes back down.
  • Each time an Infinity Stone is claimed, Thanos' abilities grow more powerful and the Chitauri gain health.
    • Reality Stone (Red) = Heath & Shields doubled (1000->2000)
    • Soul Stone (Orange) = Siphon activated (grants Thanos shields only)
    • Mind Stone (Yellow) = Jump height doubled
    • Space Stone (Blue) = Ground Pound AOE size tripled, damage x6
    • Time Stone (Green) = Big knockback added to each hit, damage x3
    • Power Stone (Purple) = Laser damage x6
  • If Thanos is eliminated from the match, another Chitauri will become him after a short wait (unless Thanos is the last one standing).
  • If Thanos & the Chitauri find all six Infinity Stones, Heroes will no longer be able to respawn.
  • The goal for Thanos and his army is to find the stones and then eliminate the remaining heroes.

Completing the challenge allows players to get new rewards like banners. sprays, and even the Avengers Quinjet Glider.

In terms of Gameplay, the patch resolved an issue that prevented the correct amount of Survival XP from being granted after games and have gifted XP to players as compensation. Players should expect to receive this compensation via the Gifting system.

Change were made to Fortnite Creative as well, which include:

New Rounds game settings

  • You can now add rounds to any game.
  • Everything will be reset to the original pre-game state when starting a new round.
  • Each round uses the end game Score and Winner display settings to announce a winner, and also displays a round scoreboard.
  • The number of wins per team or player is displayed on the scoreboard.
    • In the future, Fortnite will be adding an overall winner for the game display.
  • The Total Rounds setting sets the number of rounds from 1 to 100.

Updated options for Eliminations, Creature Eliminations, Objectives to Win, and Collect Items to:

  • Win to be Off, 1-10, 15, 20, 30, 40, 50, 100, 200, 500, or 1000.

The patch also adds a Phase mode for Creative:

  • While flying, you can now activate Phase mode to pass through objects and terrain!
  • Phasing can be very useful for quickly navigating your Island while editing.
  • To activate or deactivate Phase mode:
    • On the keyboard, press the N key(this can be reassigned in Settings).
    • On controllers, hold down the Left Thumbstick.
    • On mobile devices, you can assign a new Phase button to your HUD which allows you to toggle Phase.

Note that players' Phase setting will be remembered, so players continue to phase after they stop and start flying.

A complete list of all the changes in patch v8.50 can be viewed here.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories