Final Fantasy XII Now Available On Xbox One And Nintendo Switch

Featuring enhancements for the Xbox One X.
Final Fantasy XII is now playable on the Xbox One family of consoles and the Switch.
Final Fantasy XII is now playable on the Xbox One family of consoles and the Switch. Square Enix

The fantasy roleplaying video game from Square Enix, Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age, is now available for Switch and Xbox One, and the game is looking to be even better than the PC and PlayStation version we already had.

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age was first released for PlayStation 4 in 2017, then for PC last year, and now, it has finally seen a release in Switch and Xbox this year. However, Square Enix made major enhancements for the latest release to these two consoles. These enhancements include the following listed below:

  • License Reset Function – By talking to Clan Centurio's leader Montblanc in Rabanastre, players can reset and change their party member's jobs, allowing them to customize the jobs of their party as desired.
  • Additional Gambit Sets – Gambits allow players to customize their party's AI. Players can now create three unique sets, allowing players to switch between sets for different situations, such as map exploration or boss fights.
  • Improved "New Game+" – Allows users to start the game with party members at level 90 and carry over some items like weapons, magic and gils obtained during previous playthroughs
  • Specific to Xbox One X – Supports 60fps
  • Switching soundtracks
  • Trial mode

This may turn out to be a bummer for the people who bought the $49.99 game earlier on PlayStation 4 and PC. It turns out that this improved version for the Switch and Xbox is being sold for the same price. Jason Schreier, a writer for Kotaku, has stated that he asked one Square Enix representative if there are any plans on giving the same features to the PlayStation 4 and PC, and was met with no response. Schreier says he isn’t optimistic about the idea at all and on that part, I can agree with him. I guess you’ll have no choice but to buy the Switch or Xbox version, even though you already bought the earlier version, if you really want to test out the improved Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age.

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age is now available o the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch and PC. It supports 60 frames per second on the Xbox One X.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories