Final Fantasy VI Pixel Remaster Arriving on Steam February 23

It's almost here.
It's almost here. Square Enix

The sixth game in the Final Fantasy pixel remaster series is set to be released February 23. Final Fantasy VI is going to be available on PC through Steam. It's also launching on Google Play and the App Store. The game has fans enjoy the 2D pixel remaster of this RPG with new graphics and audio.

The original Final Fantasy VI was released for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System back in 1994. This remaster continues to capture all the magic present in the original but with improved ease of play. It follows the aftermath of The War of the Magi where the world is now ashes and misery. In addition, it appears that magic is now gone.

After 1,000 years, humanity has finally rebuilt but this time using machines and technology. One day, the Empire found a young girl named Terra who has mysterious powers. She's being enslaved to use her powers as a weapon. This resulted in a meeting between Terra and the young man Locke. Their escape from the Empire has started a series of events that affects countless lives.

A lot of players consider this game as one of the most beloved in the Final Fantasy series. After all, it had a robust roster of playable characters, each with stories, goals, and destinies. The game also allowed players to customize the abilities, magic spells, and summons of the party members.

For this pixel remaster, players can look forward to these improvements and updates:

  • Universally updated 2D pixel graphics
    • Includes the iconic Final Fantasy pixel character designs created by Kazuko Shibuya, the original artist, and current collaborator.
  • ​A beautifully rearranged soundtrack in a faithful Final Fantasy style.
    • This was overseen by the original composer Nobuo Uematsu.
  • ​Improved gameplay, including a modernized UI and auto-battle options.
  • Supplemental extras like the bestiary, illustration gallery, and music player.

Fans can now pre-purchase the game on Steam. Those who do get the 20% discount and these goodies:

  • Four wallpapers
  • Five music tracks
    • The Decisive Battle (Timelapse Remix)
    • Terra’s Theme (Timelapse Remix)
    • Searching for Friends (Timelapse Remix)
    • Locke’s Theme (Timelapse Remix)
    • Aria di Mezzo Carattere (Instrumental)

What are you waiting for? Get the game before it officially releases.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories