Destiny 2 TWAB: Rift Mode Returns in Season 17; New PvP Map and Upcoming Crucible Changes Revealed

TWAB Twitter/@DestinyTheGame

A fan-favorite PvP game mode is making its return in Destiny 2 Season 17. Bungie also revealed a new map and some upcoming Crucible changes in the recent TWAB.

Rift Mode Returns

Rift is a staple in the original Destiny game. For those who don’t know, Rift is an objective-based Crucible mode akin to a game of soccer. The objective is simply to bring something called the “Spark” to the enemy’s rift to score points.

Each team has a rift on their side of the map. The Spark will appear on the center of the map just a few seconds after a match starts. Those who wield it will get a buff that allows full weapon and ability usage, in addition to being able to use your Super.

When someone picks up the Spark, a waypoint to the holder will be established for both teams. Not only will this give the enemy team their whereabouts, but this also urges the holder’s team to defend the Spark at all cost.

However, the Spark detonates when it is held for too long, so the holder must become active once it is taken. Besides that, if the carrier dies, the Spark drops to the ground at the exact spot where they’ve been killed.

Team resurrection is enabled in Rift as well. If your team is in the middle of a push towards the enemy rift, be sure to help or provide cover until your downed teammate is revived.

Rift is going to be available in Crucible and in the Iron Banner in Season 17.

Crucible Changes

New Map: Disjunction
New Map: Disjunction Bungie

There’s a new map to be introduced in Destiny 2 next season called Disjunction. It is a symmetric map set in the swampy Pyramid area of the Throne World with a base on either end. There are also three lanes with plenty of crossovers and large backfields. Disjunction will be available on all 3v3, 6v6, and Free-for-All modes in the Iron Banner and Crucible in Season 17.

The developers will also implement some changes to various existing Crucible modes. Here’s a rundown:

  • Control
    • Team gains 1 point per participant when capturing a zone, rather than 1 flat point.
    • This is how it was in Destiny 1.
  • Elimination
    • Time limit is lowered to 90 seconds to match Trials of Osiris.
  • Mayhem
    • Points for Super kills increased to 3 (previously 2).
    • Increased score target to 200 (previously 150).
    • Decreased time limit to 7 minutes (previously 8).
  • Rumble
    • Increased time limit to 10 minutes (was 8).
  • Showdown
    • Increased round score targets to 15 (was 10).

So, how do you feel about Rift mode returning to Destiny 2? Are you excited about the new map and upcoming changes to Crucible modes in Season 17?

Destiny 2 is available on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and PC.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories