Destiny 2: Lightfall Has Arrived; Season of Defiance Now Underway

Season of Defiance
Season of Defiance Bungie

The highly-anticipated Lightfall expansion for Destiny 2 is now available on all platforms. So, what’s in store for you in the game’s latest expansion?

Season of Defiance

The arrival of Destiny 2: Lightfall also marks the beginning of Season 20, aka Season of Defiance. Just like any other season in the game, there’s a new Battle Pass where you can unlock nice goodies, including the new Verglas Curve Exotic Bow, the Guardian’s Angel Ghost Shell, Exotic Emotes, and so much more.

If you have purchased the Annual Pass bundle, you’ll have instant access to Quicksilver Storm as well. This is an exotic kinetic auto rifle that turns your next shot into a homing micro-rocket after landing multiple hits. Don’t worry, the Quicksilver Storm can be acquired randomly just by farming Destiny 2 content.

New Subclass

One of the best things in Lightfall is the introduction of the new subclass called Strand. The Berserker Titan can manifest claws capable of severing their targets from the weave. The Broodweaver Warlock is a telekinetic sorcerer that can manipulate the weave, enabling them to clear mobs with ease. And lastly, the Threadrunner Hunter can utilize ropes masterfully to grapple and damage enemies.

Other Exciting Changes

  • Armor energy type has been deprecated. Armor now has untyped armor energy, and all mods use that untyped energy when socketed.
  • Armor mods that were previously based on weapon archetype are now based on weapon damage type.
  • Most armor mods that are based on weapon damage type also have a harmonic version, which is discounted when the weapon's damage type matches your subclass damage type.
  • Armor mod costs have been generally reduced across the board.
  • The Combat Style mod socket has been deprecated and replaced on all armor pieces with an extra socket for mods associated with that armor slot (helmet, gauntlets, etc.).
  • Resonant elements have been removed.
  • Crafting component costs have been replaced with standard currencies such as Glimmer and Enhancement Cores.
  • Deepsight will now only manifest on weapons that have a pattern available to unlock.
  • Deepsight has been removed on existing weapons that do not have a pattern available to unlock.
  • The Deepsight attunement objective has been removed. You can immediately extract or dismantle the weapon to obtain pattern progress.
  • Umbral engrams are no longer used to focus seasonal weapons and armor and will no longer drop from the game.
    • As a result, there will no longer be Seasonal umbral energy.
  • Seasonal engrams are a new type of engram.
    • You can visit the seasonal vendor to open them.
    • Or you can spend multiple seasonal engrams to focus into specific weapons or armor.
  • Seasonal focusing is now a separate screen and can be accessed at the vendor by pressing the button next to upgrades.

Destiny 2: Lightfall is now available on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and PC.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories