Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection Now Available For Switch

Get your hands on this collection.
Get your hands on this collection. Ubisoft

Do you want to be a pirate-turned-Assassin and ransack the Caribbean? Or be an Assassin-turned-Templar and maintain order in the Colonies? The good news is that Nintendo Switch players now have that chance. Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection is now available for the Switch. The collection offers Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag and Assassin’s Creed Rogue.

Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

In this game, players take the role of the pirate Edward Kenway, who puts on a stolen Assassin’s hood and explores an open-world Caribbean during the Golden Age of Piracy. This was a time that was rife with colonial cities and settlements to visit, treacherous dive sites to explore, and ships to plunder. Players also get to rub shoulders with some of the most infamous pirates in history. Get to engage enemies in naval battles or hunt them down on land.

This version for the Switch also includes the standalone Freedom Cry adventure. In this one, players take on the part of Kenway’s first mate Adewale and sail around 18th century Haiti in order to liberate slaves.

Assassin’s Creed Rogue

For this game, players go through the story of Shay Cormac. This idealistic Assassin has uncovered a terrible truth and joins the order-obsessed Templars instead. It is here that he finds new purpose in hunting his former brothers-in-arms. The game expands on the action introduced in Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag and has Cormac sail the icy waters of the North Atlantic. After that he needs to foil Assassin ambushes on the streets of New York and has to work beside Templar Grandmaster Haytham Kenway with the goal of restoring order to pre-Revolution America. These actions set the stage for the events of Assassin’s Creed III.

Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection also offers an extra content pack that features CG trailers and concept art for Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. It even has the first 55 pages of the novel Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag: Blackbeard, though only available in English. Finally, there are also two volumes of the Assassin’s Creed Awakening manga, also only in English.

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag was released in October of 2013. Compared to the previous versions, elements of the gameplay focus more on ship-based exploration, but continues to offer third-person land-based exploration, melee combat, and a stealth system. Multiplayer also returns in the franchise, though it's limited to land-based modes and settings. Assassin's Creed Rogue, meanwhile, was released in December of 2014, with gameplay similar to Black Flag.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories