Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin Arriving July 9

See what this one offers.
See what this one offers. Capcom

Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin confirmed that it’s arriving on PC and Nintendo Switch on July 8. Preorders are already being planned and the game is being offered in different editions, which were confirmed during the Monster Hunter Digital Event.

The game is a spin-off title in the Monster Hunter franchise and serves as a sequel to the Monster Hunter Stories game released in 2016. In the sequel, the Rathalos have disappeared and it’s up to players to take care of a Rathalos egg. Players, in particular, take on the role of the descendant of the legendary Rider known as Red.

The game is offered in Standard and Deluxe Editions. But the latter includes these goodies:

  • Rider's Layered Armor:
    • Razewing Armor Alpha
    • Razewing Armor Beta
  • Ena's Outfit:
    • Kuan Coat
  • Navirou's Outfits:
    • Pukei-Pukei Costume
    • Nergigante Costume
  • Rider's Hairstyle:
    • Spiky Nergal
  • Sticker Sets:
    • Adventure Buddies 2
    • Adventure Buddies 3

While there’s still no date given for preorders, those who do will get the Outfit for Ena: Kamura Maiden Outfit as a bonus.

Besides the game, there’s also an amiibo offer that unlocks a different special layered armor set in Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin. The amiibos are:

  • [Ena amiibo]
  • [Razewing Ratha amiibo]
  • [Tsukino amiibo]

Finally, those who link up their data to Monster Hunter Rise get the Rider's Layered Armor: Kamura Garb.

Game Details

So far, seven other characters have been introduced. They are:

  • Ena
    • A Wyverian girl who knew the player’s grandfather, Red.
  • Navirou
    • A globe-trotting Felyne that has an unforgettable face.
  • Red
    • The player’s grandfather who passed away years ago.
  • Kayna
    • A Rider from Mahana Village.
  • Alwin
    • A Wyverian Rider from Rutoh Village.
  • Tsukino
    • The Palico of a young Hunter.
  • Razewing Ratha
    • The Monstie that hatched from the egg the player received from Ena.

There are also Monsties revealed, which are monsters that players can form bonds with. These include:

  • Mizutsune
    • Kinship Skill: Moonlight Transience
  • Pukei-Pukei
    • Kinship Skill: Venom Surprise
  • Paolumu
    • Kinship Skill: Jet Balloon
  • Anjanath
    • Kinship Skill: Anja Assault
  • Legiana
    • Kinship Skill: Icicle Realm
  • Kulu-Ya-Ku
    • Kinship Skill: Eggsplosion
  • Velocidrome
    • Kinship Skill: Velocirush

What about you? What are your thoughts on this game?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories