Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker Expansion is Finally Here

A lot of new and exciting content.
A lot of new and exciting content. Square Enix

The Endwalker expansion for Final Fantasy XIV has finally arrived. There are many new things to unpack, so we’ll just have a look at some of the big changes.

That said, let’s start with a clear highlight of Patch 6.0. It’s none other than the addition of the male Viera race. With this, players can now choose male Viera when creating new characters and even when editing the appearance of their characters through Fantasia.

There’s also the main scenario quest titled “The Next Ship to Sail.” To access this new quest, players need to complete the “Death Unto Dawn” quest. Once that’s done, they need to go to the Rising Stones and look for Alphinaud. By the way, players need to be at least Disciple of War or Magic level 80.

Other new pieces of content that arrived in this latest expansion include:

  • New Cities
    • Old Sharlayan
    • Radz-at-Han
  • New Field Areas
    • Labyrinthos
    • Thavnair
    • Garlemald
    • Mare Lamentorum

Another new thing that should excite players is Empyreum being added in Ishgard. This is a new housing district and before you get too excited, it’s not yet open for business. Plots are going to be available for sale, through the lottery, when Patch 6.1 drops.

So what else did the new patch bring to the table? Two new jobs have been added. The first is the Reaper, which is a melee DPS. It can be unlocked by completing “The Killer Instinct” quest. Second is the healer Sage which can only be unlocked when the “Sage’s Path” quest is finished. Learn more about these two new jobs here.

As we mentioned, there are indeed a lot of new things to go over. Hopefully, these highlights are enough to make you curious enough about this new expansion.

Free Access

As we reported yesterday, Producer and Director Naoki Yoshida revealed that they were offering seven days of free game time resulting from the congestion experienced during the Early Access of Endwalker. To become eligible for the compensation, players need to meet these requirements as of today:

  • Has registered the full version of Final Fantasy XIV.
  • Had a valid subscription on or after Dec. 3, 2021.

Final Fantasy XIV is available on PC, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation 5.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories