Diablo II: Resurrected Patch 2.5 Now Live on PTR; Introduces Terror Zones

PTR Patch 2.5
PTR Patch 2.5 Twitter/@Diablo

Patch 2.5 for the action RPG Diablo II: Resurrected is now available on the game’s public test realm or PTR. This update introduces what is known as Terror Zones. Read further to learn more.

What Are They?

Leveling a character to Level 99 in Diablo II: Resurrected back then means that you’d have to kill Baal, Diablo, or Nihlathak repeatedly. As you can tell, this is a rather boring experience. This prompted the developers to offer new ways to level up your character that are both challenging and rewarding, all while providing more variety in terms of the monsters you kill. Thus, the Terror Zones are born.

Terror Zones are specific areas where massive armies of the Burning Hells will spawn for you to kill. These monsters are at least two levels higher than the base level of the host, meaning that the rewards and XP you get are higher than their original counterparts. If the host decides to leave, another player will be the new basis for calculations.

This particular feature is only exclusive to the Ladder experience online. If you decide to create a group, you will have the option to enable or disable Terror Zones as you wish.

Here is a brief rundown of the level details for each monster type per difficulty:

  • Base: +2 levels up to level 45
  • Champion: +4 levels up to level 47
  • Unique: +5 levels up to level 48
  • Base: +2 levels up to level 71
  • Champion: +4 levels up to level 73
  • Unique: +5 levels up to level 74
  • Base: +2 levels up to level 96
  • Champion: +4 levels up to level 98
  • Unique: +5 levels up to level 99

Once you’ve created or joined a Terror Zone-enabled game, you’ll be notified of where the current terrorized areas are via the Chat Box. Additionally, there are several other indicators, including a special audio cue, a unique icon beside the monster’s name, on-screen text, and in-game text on the automap.

Here are some of the zones that can become terrorized during the PTR:

  • Blood Moor and Den of Evil
  • Cold Plains and The Cave
  • Burial Grounds, The Crypt, and the Mausoleum
  • Dark Wood
  • Black Marsh
  • The Forgotten Tower
  • Jail
  • Cathedral and Catacombs
  • Tristram
  • Moo Moo Farm
  • Sewers
  • Rocky Waste and Stony Tomb
  • Dry Hills and Halls of the Dead
  • Far Oasis and Maggot Lair
  • Lost City, Valley of Snakes, and Claw Viper Temple
  • Harem and Palace Cellar
  • Arcane Sanctuary
  • Tal Rasha's Tombs
  • Spider Forest and Spider Cavern
  • Flayer Jungle and Flayer Dungeon
  • Lower Kurast
  • Kurast Bazaar, Ruined Temple, and Disused Fane
  • Kurast Sewers
  • Travincal
  • Durance of Hate

The full list can be found on the official site.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories