Deathwing The Destroyer Set To Wreak Havoc In Heroes Of The Storm

New hero arriving soon.
New hero arriving soon. Blizzard

The Nexus and Heroes of the Storm is not going to be the same as the World Breaker has joined the fight. Deathwing The Destroyer is the latest hero to enter the fray, and brings a unique playstyle befitting the iconic hero.

You can view the reveal trailer below:

This new hero is so powerful that it has two forms. Not only that, each form comes with new abilities to let you embrace the Aspect of Death fantasy as well as rain molten destruction all across the battlefield. While this is indeed an immense power, this is balanced pretty well with a big weakness. Deathwing cannot be targeted or healed by his allies. What this means is that if you make the decision to use this hero, you need to be able to use your own cunning and have a good strategy in mind.

Blizzard is putting up a special livestream to give everyone a sneak peek at what to expect with Deathwing. You can view the stream here.

Blizzard also announced that Deathwing is going to be playable for the first time on the BlizzCon show floor. Unfortunately, there hasn't been any news as to when Deathwing is actually going to be added to the game yet.

You may be asking yourself who Deathwing is and why this reveal is such a big deal. For starters, Deathwing is a legendary dragon in the Warcraft series. He is known by many names that include, among others, Aspect of Death, The Black Scourge, The Destroyer, and The Worldbreaker.

In the lore, Deathwing was on of the five Dragon Aspects who was driven mad by the Old Gods and turned against the other Aspects. He was later defeated by the other Aspects, forcing him to retreat. He made a return in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm, resulting in the Shattering.

Developed and published by Blizzard, Heroes of the Storm is a crossover multiplayer online battle arena game released in 2015. As of September of this year, there are a total of 87 characters, or heroes, for players to choose from with each offering unique strengths and weaknesses. The heroes are divided into six different roles which are tank, bruiser, ranged assassin, melee assassin, healer, and support.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories