Call of Duty Getting the Ricochet Anti-Cheat System

Cheaters beware.
Cheaters beware. Blizzard

Cheating is always present in video games, especially those that allow multiplayer. Different games have been implementing their very own anti-cheat systems to mitigate the problem. For Call of Duty developers, the choice is the Ricochet Anti-Cheat.

In a post, the Call of Duty staff shared that they planned this initiative to be a multi-faceted approach when it comes to cheating. Features include having a new server-side that monitors analytics to identify cheating, improved investigation processes, and updates to strengthen account security. The staff went on to say that Ricochet is launching with Call of Duty: Vanguard. The system is also coming to Call of Duty: Warzone courtesy of the Pacific update.

In the same post, they shared that the Ricochet is a full anti-cheat system. It introduces a wide range of improvements to the security of the Call of Duty games. One example is it adds a Kernel-Level Driver to Call of Duty: Warzone.

Kernel-level driver is given a high level of access to monitor and manage software and applications on a PC. Ricochet checks if there are any software or applications that are trying to interact with and manipulate the game. Once the kernel-level driver is officially deployed, players will need it to play Call of Duty: Warzone.

For those concerned about privacy, they assured everyone that the kernel-level driver won’t always be on. The software turns on when a player starts the game and then shuts down when the player closes the game. In addition, the kernel-level driver only monitors and reports activities related to Call of Duty.

You can read more about the Ricochet Anti-Cheat System here.

Call of Duty: Warzone was released in 2020 on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S. The game allows online multiplayer combat between 150 players.

Call of Duty: Vanguard is launching worldwide this November 5. It’s set to be available on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One and Xbox Series X/S. The game features the start of the special forces.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories