Elden Ring Takes Home Game of the Year Crown at NAVGTR Awards

God of War Ragnarök wins 17 awards.
Another big win!
Another big win! NAVGTR

Elden Ring once again puts a notch in the win column as it took home Game of the Year during the 22nd National Academy of Video Game Trade Reviewers (NAVGTR) Awards. However, that's not all this action RPG has to brag about.

Elden Ring also won four other awards including:

  • Outstanding Art Direction, Period Influence
  • Outstanding Gameplay Design, New IP
  • Outstanding Game, Original Role Playing
  • Outstanding Original Dramatic Score, New IP

Record Win

While winning five awards is indeed a big achievement, it somewhat pales in comparison to the number of awards that God of War Ragnarök won. That's because it took home a record-breaking 17 awards, including:

  • Outstanding Animation, Technical
  • Outstanding Camera Direction in a Game Engine
  • Outstanding Character Design
  • Outstanding Control Design, 3D
  • Outstanding Control Precision
  • Outstanding Costume Design
  • Outstanding Direction in a Game Cinema
  • Outstanding Sound Effects

Multiple Wins

For those wondering, here are the number of awards won per game:

  • God of War Ragnarök : 17
  • Elden Ring : 5
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge : 3
  • Metal: Hellsinger : 3
  • Cuphead: The Delicious Last Course : 3
  • Vampire Survivors : 2
  • Stray : 2
  • Moss: Book II : 2
  • Bayonetta 3 : 2
  • A Plague Tale: Requiem : 2

Notable Wins

Some of the highlights in this year's awards show include Christopher Judge (Kratos in God of War Ragnarök) winning his second NAVGTR award for Lead Performance in a Drama. Judge had won for the same role back in 2018. Dave Fennoy (Rodin in Bayonetta 3) also took home a second NAVGTR award for Supporting Performance in a Comedy. For his part, Fennoy's previous award was for The Walking Dead.

The two now join three other performers who have multiple NAVGTR awards. They are:

  • Laura Bailey (two awards)
  • Mark Hamill (two awards for playing the “Joker”)
  • Troy Baker (3 awards, with two for the same character).

Finally A Win

Meanwhile, Bruce Campbell finally won for Evil Dead: The Game (Ash in Evil Dead: The Game). This was his third nomination. In his first two nominations, he was beaten by Ray Liotta and Adam West.

Campbell is actually one of three actors who managed to get their third nominations this year. The other two are Steve Blum and Elias Toufexis.

View the complete list of nominees and winners here.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories