Final Fantasy XIV: Starter Guides Now Available

A little something to help.
A little something to help. Square Enix

If you're new to Final Fantasy XIV, then you'll surely love the new “Starter Guide Series.” This online video series offers tips and tricks for those new to the game and help them get the most out of their adventure. It doesn't matter if you're going solo or with others since the series was made to help.

The series follows Kaz, who is guided in his adventure through Eorzea by his mentor Mayra. In Episode One: “The Adventure Begins,” new players can learn more about what they need to do including:

  • Creating a character
  • Using the map
  • Starting main scenario quests

The complete Starter Guide series has a total of seven videos. Each one focuses on a different aspect of the new player experience. The episodes and content are:

  • Series Introduction
    • Join veteran adventurer Mayra as she guides new player Kaz to the world of Final Fantasy XIV.
  • Episode 1: The Adventure Begins
    • Kaz creates his character and takes his first steps in Eorzea.
    • Mayra introduces Kaz to the map and different quest types so he can enjoy the main story without getting lost.
  • ​Episode 2: Meet Your FATE
    • Mayra introduces Kaz to class quests and how he can unlock different classes starting at level 10.
    • Kaz encounters his first FATE, an open-world encounter where everyone nearby can take part.
  • Episode 3: Hall of the Novice
    • Kaz learns how to organize his cluttered inventory and discovers the Recommended Gear feature.
    • Mayra takes Kaz to the Hall of the Novice where he gets a crash course on party combat and a new set of gear.
  • Episode 4: Do Your Duty
    • Putting his newly acquired skills to the test, Kaz teams up with Mayra to form a light party with the Duty Finder to tackle his first dungeon.
    • Kaz learns how dungeon rewards are distributed via Need, Greed, and Pass.
  • Episode 5: Trial by Fire
    • Kaz forms his own party and takes on his first trial: an epic boss battle.
    • As his renown grows, Kaz is recruited by one of three Grand Companies of Eorzea and unlocks his very own chocobo mount at level 20.
  • Episode 6: The End of the Beginning
    • Mayra regales Kaz with all he has learned so far and all he still has to look forward to in the Free Trial and beyond.

Final Fantasy XIV is available on PC, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation 5.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories