Dota 2 Summit 12 Starts Tomorrow With Six Teams Invited

  • Linux
  • OS X
  • Windows
  • Action
  • Combat
  • Survival
A quick battle.
A quick battle. Beyond the Summit

Just when you thought you couldn’t get enough Dota 2, the LOOT.BET Dota Summit is all set to start tomorrow, March 10. The tournament ends on March 13 and offers a prize pool of $100,000. What makes this tournament rather unique is that it’s set between the StarLadder ImbaTV Minor and the ESL One Los Angeles Major 2020.

While it’s surprising that the tournament is between two Valve-sanctioned events, it’s even more surprising that the teams agreed to take part in it. Then again, for three of the teams, the Summit is going to serve as their warm-up for the Major. By that we mean Fnatic, Evil Geniuses, and Thunder Predator. We’re going to see if being part of Summit 12 is going to give them an advantage or not for the Major.

So who are the other three teams? Let’s take a look at what they have to offer.

We start with OG Seed. A lot of people were surprised when two-time TI champion OG announced the formation of OG Seed. For many, this new team could serve as a possible “source” for Dota 2 players with the main OG team. In addition, they’re going to be coached by none other than Johan “N0tail” Sundstein. OG Seed is composed of Omar “Madara” Dabachach, Rasmus Johan "Chessie" Blomdin, Andreas Per "Xibbe" Ragnemalm, Zakari William Lee "Zfreek" Freedman, and Petu "Peksu" Vaatainen.

Joining the tournament as well is Team Liquid. Despite the name, this is not the same successful roster fans might be familiar with. That roster has since left and formed their own team with Nigma. What is interesting about this new Team Liquid is that the new members were all from Alliance. The new Team Liquid is composed of Michael "miCKe" Vu, Max "qojqva" Bröcker, Samuel "Boxi" Svahn, Tommy "Taiga" Le, and Aydin "iNSaNiA" Sarkohi.

All eyes are also going to be on Cloud9, who, despite reviving their Dota 2 roster in January of this year, made the decision to change three of its players by signing Jacky "EternaLEnVy" Mao, Marcus "Ace" Hoelgaard, and Jingjun "Sneyking" Wu. EternalEnvy and Sneyking’s additions are not without controversy, as the two players left Fighting PandaS just as the ImbaTV Minor was about to start. Joining the three are Rasmus "MISERY" Filipsen and Johan "pieliedie" Åström.

What do you think are the chances of each team for this tournament?

Join the Discussion
Top Stories