The Dota 2 ESL One Los Angeles 2020 Qualifiers Are Underway

  • Linux
  • OS X
  • Windows
  • Action
  • Combat
  • Survival
Qualifiers are here.
Qualifiers are here. ESL One

The different Dota 2 teams from around the world are now in the midst of battle as the Qualifiers for the ESL One Los Angeles 2020 are ongoing for most of the regions. This is the third major of the 2019-2020 DPC Season and brings with it a $1 million prize pool and a total of 15,000 DPC Points. The only region that hasn't start yet is China, where qualifiers begin on February 12.


Before we go into the different regions, let’s go back a bit to the format. Unlike in the past majors, Valve made a decision that all teams should go through the qualifiers. The only difference is that the top eight teams per region are invited directly to the closed qualifiers. The other teams need to battle it out through the open qualifiers.

In the closed qualifiers, the top teams get to be part of the major, while some get to qualify and get another chance with the minor.


The different regions, and the teams fighting to get a spot at the ESL One LA 2020 Major, are listed below:

  • Europe (3 slots)
    • Team Secret
    • Alliance
    • Team Liquid
    • Nigma
    • Ninjas in Pyjamas
    • Team Singularity
    • Aggressive Mode
    • OG
    • OG Seed
  • China (3 slots)
    • Invictus Gaming
    • Team Aster
    • Royal Never Give Up
    • EHOME
    • Look for Smile
    • Newbie
    • CDEC Gaming
    • Keen Gaming
    • TBD (Open Qualifiers)
    • TBD (Open Qualifiers)
  • Southeast Asia (3 slots)
    • TNC Predator
    • Fnatic
    • Team Adroit
    • Geek Fam
    • Reality Rift
    • BOOM Esports
    • Cignal Ultra
    • Neon Esports
    • IO Dota 2
    • Lowkey Esports
  • CIS (2 slots)
    • Gambit Esports
    • Natus Vincere
    • Team Spirit
    • Cyber Legacy
    • forZe eSports
    • HellRaisers
    • Unique Nova
    • Modus Unity
  • ​North America (2 slots)
    • Evil Geniuses
    • Fighting PandaS
    • Chaos Esports Club
    • Team Xolotl
    • Demon Slayers
    • Business associates
    • Ghoul
    • DoZE Sports
    • Team Team
    • Zoomies
  • South America (2 slots)
    • beastcoast
    • paiN Gaming
    • FURIA Esports
    • Infamous
    • EgoBoyd
    • Unknown Team
    • NoPing e-sports
    • Vicious Gaming
    • Omega Gaming
    • ​Thunder Predator
  • StarLadder Imba Minor (1 slot)
    • TBD

Open Qualifiers Highlights

Since the end of DreamLeague Season 13, there have been some changes to team rosters, as well as formations of new teams. We look into how they have fared so far.

For the SEA Region, two teams entered our radar, with the first being Cloud 9. The organization made the decision to have a new roster for Dota 2 and start in the SEA region. In the open qualifiers they managed only to win one round before being eliminated by Trust Gaming.

The second is T1, which opened a Dota 2 roster with a good lineup. Some of the featured players include Dominik “Black^” Reitmeier and Lee “Forev” Sang-don. They had a chance during the open qualifiers when entering the Round of 4. However, they weren’t able to get past IO Data 2, which boasts of a roster including Ryan "Bimbo" Jay Qui, Khoo "Ohaiyo" Chong Xin, and Chai "Mushi" Yee Fung.

Over in CIS, the new team formed by Danil "Dendi" Ishutin, B8, only managed to make it to the Round of 8 before being eliminated by Modus Unity.

What are your thoughts for this upcoming major? Who do you think is going to get in? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories