11 Best Rap Albums Coming In March: Flatbush Zombies, Bas, Elzhi, Lil Bibby & More

The Flatbush Zombies debut album releases March 11.
The Flatbush Zombies debut album releases March 11. Flatbush Zombies

February was a huge month for hip hop. New rap albums seemed to drop every day of the week. Kanye West released The Life of Pablo . Curren$y and The Alchemist came through with some fresh heat on The Carrollton Heist. BJ The Chicago Kid blessed us with some soulful R&B on his first major-label release, In My Mind. This month, we have a whole squad of young rappers ready to make their mark. While there aren’t as many hard release dates this time around, there are a slew of projects that could drop at any moment. Surprise! So we’ve included a list of tapes to to keep your eye on just in case.

Flatbush Zombies, March 11

3001: A Laced Odyssey

The Flatbush Zombies will release their first album, A Laced Odyssey, through their own label, Glorious Dead Records. The young Brooklyn trio has already debuted the album’s lead single, “Bounce.” Meechy Darko, Zombie Juice and Erick "The Architect" Elliott are all members of Beat Coast, a hip hop collective consisting of The Underachievers and Joey Bada$$’s Pro Era. Their first three mixtapes, Clockwork Indigo, DRUGS and Better off Dead, built them a huge underground following. Peep the album art and tracklist below:

Elzhi, March 11

Lead Poison

Battling depression, Elzhi’s highly anticipated Kickstarter album is centered around struggle and recovery. So far, we have two singles from Lead Poison , “February” and “CoSign.” Elzhi’s last project, Elmatic, was a tribute to Nas. The tape was so well received, the Detroit emcee was able to raise almost $40,000 from 708 backers. Check out the tracklist and album art below:

  1. "Medicine Man" (prod. Nick Speed)
  2. "Introverted" (prod. Bombay)
  3. "Weedipedia" (prod. Bombay)
  4. "February" (prod. 14KT)
  5. "Egocentric" (prod. Quelle Chris)
  6. "Two 16's" (prod. Karriem Riggins)
  7. "Hello!!!!" (prod. Soledad Brother)
  8. "Friendzone" (prod. Oh No)
  9. "The Healing Process" (prod. Joself)
  10. "Cloud" (prod. Bombay)
  11. "Alienated" f. Smitty (prod. Joself)
  12. "She Sucks f. Chris Dave & The Drumhedz (prod. Agor)
  13. "coSIGN" f. Skonie (prod. 14KT)
  14. "Misright" (prod. Bombay)
  15. "The Turning Point" (prod. 14KT)*
  16. "Keep Dreaming" (prod. Bombay)

Bas, March 4

Too High To Riot

Queens rapper, Bas, will release his second studio album under J Cole’s Dreamville Records. Expect features from J Cole, Cozz, and The Hics. Check out four singles from the album: “Methylone,” “Matches,” “Night Job,” and “Clouds Never Get Old.” Peep the tracklist and cover art below:

Lil Bibby, March 18

FC3 The Epilogue

Lil Bibby says to expect a “street album.” From the singles he’s released thus far, “Steph,” “Sleeping on the Floor” featuring G Herbo, and “Ridah,” it appears the he isn’t lying. His last project, Free Crack 3 , was released in November. FC3: The Epilogue will be the Chicago rapper’s first studio album. He’s pushed back the release date many times, so hopefully third time's the charm. Take a look at the album art and tracklist below:

  1. FC3 (Intro)
  2. EBT To BET
  3. Sleeping On The Floor (ft. G Herbo)
  4. Aww Man (ft. Future)
  5. Can't Trust A Soul (ft. Travi$ Scott)
  6. Who You Kno
  7. I Think I Much (ft. Migos)
  8. FCEY (ft. Post Malone)
  9. Ridah
  10. Steph
  11. Outro (ft. Jacquees)
  12. Can't Trust A Soul

Upcoming Releases

Action Bronson

Blue Chips 7 or The Human Highlight Reel

It’s almost past ”early next year” and Action Bronson’s Human Highlight Reel could drop anytime now according to the rapper’s December tweet. But don’t forget about Blue Chips 7 , which Bronson also tweeted was coming “real soon” all the way back in July after he announced he’s skipping Blue Chips 3-6 and moving right on to 7.

808 Mafia & Curren$y

Bourbon Street Secrets

Spitta never stops spittin’. Now the NOLA rapper is ready to release another project titled Bourbon Street Secrets with 808 Mafia. For any other artist, we’d knock this release date back to May, but at this point we can’t underestimate Curren$y’s work flow. With over 40 albums and mixtapes under his belt over the last decade, and a whopping 8 mixtapes in one year, this joint is probably coming really soon. In the past 4 months, Curren$y has already released three projects: A collaboration with the Alchemist called The Carrollton Heist , a mixtape titled The Owner’s Manual, and a studio album named Canal Street Confidential. Now Spitta Andretti has confirmed a new project on Twitter. Apparently the duo already has 5 tracks ready to go.

A$AP Ferg

Always Strive And Prosper

A$AP Ferg said his new album is dropping “ASAP” during an interview in late February. Expect countless features, including a song with Chris Brown and Ty Dolla $ign “for the ladies.” Ferg also revealed producer DJ Khalil had a huge part in pulling the project together with help from Clams Casino, Pharrell, 40, and DJ Mustard. Missy Elliott, Schoolboy Q, Big Sean, Rick Ross, Chuck D, Future, Swizz Beatz, and Fatman Scoop are all expected to drop verses. Ferg tweeted the album would arrive in February, but obviously that did not happen. Check out two singles from the project, “New Level,” and “Tatted Angel.”

Fabolous & Jadakiss

Freddy Vs. Jason

Fabulous took to Instagram this week to announce a joint project with Jadakiss, which he captioned is “coming soon.” That could mean anything, but in the days of the Internet, this project could drop at any moment.


Freddy Vs. Jason coming soon [shot by @maryjane_bmyluv] #WhiskeyRiver #Charlotte #CIAA

A photo posted by Fabolous (@myfabolouslife) on

Top Dawg Artist TBA

Top Dawg announced on Instagram that he’s releasing a mystery TDE project this week. It’s unclear which artists’ project will drop. Earlier in the month, Top Dawg said to expect 6 albums from his label this year: Schoolboy Q, SZA, Isaiah Rashad, Ab Soul, Kendrick Lamar, and Jay Rock. In one of the photos he shared on Instagram, there are also two unnamed new artists with album slots. Schoolboy Q’s album is the only project with a tentative release date, Spring 2016. Could Q’s project drop early or will it be someone new?


Shit about to get nasty real soon... I told y'all I got y'all in 2016 #TDE

A photo posted by gwadpot (@dangerookipawaa) on

Meek Mill

Dreamchasers 4

DC4's teased release dates have come and gone. Instead, Meek Mill put out two EP’s back to back, 4/4 and 4/4 Part 2 . At this point, it’s unclear what’s in store for DC4 or when it’s coming out. Now that Meek Mill is on house arrest, he probably won’t be able to make it to the studio.

Join the Discussion
Top Stories