'Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild' Multiple Saves: Read This Before You Start A New Save

Switch-ui-leak
A Nintendo Switch console has found its way into the hands of a fan, who has already started uploading videos Nintendo

You know what will happen when you pick up a new Nintendo Switch – whether it's your annoying little brother, your friend at school, or that crush at your favorite cafe – somebody is going to ask if they could have a look at your brand-new console and the Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild that you brought along. If you're really nice, you may even let that person borrow your Nintendo Switch and play with it for a while. But before you do, you're going to want to do something first.

Create. A. New. Account.

Since the Nintendo Switch is a portable hybrid handheld console, Breath of the Wild does a really good job autosaving your progress just in case your Switch abruptly runs out of juice. As a result, you'll find a row of autosave slots for that little bit of extra insurance. And while that is all well and good, the row of saves could use a disclaimer. For an absentminded friend, adding a new game to the existing list of saves might not seem like an issue. However, the past saves exclusively belong to a single profile and starting a brand new game will effectively wipe everything clean. All past saves gone, just like that.

What you need to do is create a new profile in order to leave the original saves intact. Here's how:

1.) Go to System Settings2.) Scroll to Users3.) Add User4.) Fill in your new Profile

When you select Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild on the Nintendo Switch home menu, you will be asked to select what account you'd like to use before it opens the game.

And there it is! Hopefully, these easy steps are enough to avoid millions of little siblings from getting thrashed and ruining best friendships forever. 

Can’t get enough Breath of the Wild? Check out more of our articles and guides about the game.

Join the Discussion