'Star Trek: Discovery,' 'Beyond,' 'TNG,' 'DS9,' And 'TOS' Cast And Crew Take A Stand In 'Trek Against Trump' Statement

Enough 'Star Trek' cast and crew members have united in opposition to Donald Trump to fully staff the Deep Space Nine station. CBS Television Studios

Star Trek cast, writers, directors and producers representing every Star Trek show have united behind a “Trek Against Trump” statement. They believe his ideology, policies and personality are misaligned with the optimistic and inclusive future of Star Trek.

The statement reads:

“Star Trek has always offered a positive vision of the future, a vision of hope and optimism, and most importantly, a vision of inclusion, where people of all races are accorded equal respect and dignity, where individual beliefs and lifestyles are respected so long as they pose no threat to others. We cannot turn our backs on what is happening in the upcoming election. Never has there been a presidential candidate who stands in such complete opposition to the ideals of the Star Trek universe as Donald Trump. His election would take this country backward, perhaps disastrously. We need to elect a president who will move this country forward into the kind of future we all dream of: where personal differences are understood and accepted, where science overrules superstition, where people work together instead of against each other.

The resolution of conflicts on Star Trek was never easy. Don’t remain aloof –vote! We have heard people say they will vote Green or Libertarian or not at all because the two major candidates are equally flawed. That is both illogical and inaccurate. Either Secretary Clinton or Mr. Trump will occupy the White House. One is an amateur with a contemptuous ignorance of national laws and international realities, while the other has devoted her life to public service, and has deep and valuable experience with the proven ability to work with Congress to pass desperately needed legislation. If, as some say, the government is broken, a protest vote will not fix it.

Have you just turned 18? Have you moved? Have you never voted before? Some states have early registration (early October) and/or absentee ballots. You can’t vote if you are not registered. So make it so. Go to https://www.rockthevote.com, a non-profit, non-partisan organization, and fulfill your civic duty. Because, damn it, you are a citizen of the USA, with an obligation to take part in our democracy! Do this not merely for yourself but for all the generations that follow. Vote for a future of enlightenment and inclusion, a future that will someday lead us to the stars.”

The endorsements come from a vast swath of Star Trek personalities, representing both the show’s illustrious past and promising future. Here are the endorsements:

  • J.J. Abrams
  • Allan Apone
  • Richard Arnold
  • René Auberjonois
  • Ira Steven Behr
  • Rick Berman
  • John Billingsley
  • Christopher Black
  • Paula Block
  • Paul Boehmer
  • André Bormanis
  • Brannon Braga
  • Mark Robert Brown
  • LeVar Burton
  • Terri Potts-Chattaway
  • John Cho
  • Denise Crosby
  • Dan Curry
  • Joseph D'Agosta
  • Nicole de Boer
  • John de Lancie
  • Jonathan Del Arco
  • Chris Doohan
  • Aron Eisenberg
  • Terry Erdmann
  • Terry Farrell
  • Lolita Fatjo
  • Juan Carlos Fernandez
  • Louise Fletcher
  • Jonathan Frakes
  • Bryan Fuller
  • David Gerrold
  • Bruce Greenwood
  • Max Grodénchik
  • Martha Hackett
  • Manu Intiraymi
  • Dominic Keating
  • John Knoll
  • Walter Koenig
  • Alex Kurtzman
  • Judith Levitt
  • Jeff Lewis
  • Justin Lin
  • David Mack
  • Dennis Madalone
  • Chase Masterson
  • Gates McFadden
  • Robert Duncan McNeill
  • Nicholas Meyer
  • Anthony Montgomery
  • Ronald B. Moore
  • Kate Mulgrew
  • Larry Nemecek
  • Adam Nimoy
  • Susan Nimoy
  • Robert O'Reilly
  • Leslie Parrish
  • Robb Pearlman
  • Simon Pegg
  • Ethan Phillips
  • Robert Picardo
  • Chris Pine
  • Zachary Quinto
  • Andrew Robinson
  • Eugene & Heidi Roddenberry
  • Marvin Rush
  • Tim Russ
  • Zoe Saldana
  • Naren Shankar
  • Armin Shimerman
  • Gregory Smith
  • Brent Spiner
  • Rick Sternbach
  • Peter Sternlicht
  • Eric Stillwell
  • Sandy Stone
  • Carel Struycken
  • Marina Sirtis
  • Michael Sussman
  • Kitty Swink
  • George Takei
  • Michael Taylor
  • Connor Trinneer
  • Karl Urban
  • Wil Wheaton
  • Herman Zimmerman

As you can see, it’s an eclectic group, everything from Star Trek: The Original Series bit players to some of the most powerful and influential producers, actors, directors and writers in Star Trek history. Every Star Trek series — The Original Series (TOS), The Animated Series (TAS), The Next Generation (TNG), Deep Space Nine (DS9), Voyager (VOY), Enterprise (ENT) and Discovery (DSC) — is represented, as are all of the Star Trek movies. Trek is truly united against Donald Trump.

Join the Discussion